January 19, 2015 Mission Boundary Change

Standard

Hola Familia!
Lots has happened this week. Sister Kunz and I drove out to the
Brandon sisters appartment to clean it with them, and they had a lot
of junk to throw away. We threw out eight bags! It was fun to be with
them though and we had a lot of fun πŸ™‚ A few days later we headed back
to Lakeland and cleaned both sets of Gibsonia sisters appartments, and
they were TERRIBLE! I went with sister Capt (my MTC compa) and sister
Kastanes, and sister Kunz went with sister Loveridge and Rydalch. We
each threw about 11 bags of junk away from the buildup of missionaries
living there over the years. Crazy! Took us a while. Afterwards, the
six of us went out to Zaxby’s for dinner…its like a wanna-be
Chick-Fil-A. It was ok. We had a lot of fun together!
On wednesday we took Lukeesha to YW and we had a surprise baby shower
for sister Sucher, Lukeesha had a lot of fun! It is so cool to see her
grow. I’m comparing her from when I met her, to now after she has been
baptized and there is a difference, even if she doesnt see it. Since I
was eight when I got baptized, I didnt notice a difference at all, but
now it is cool to see someone else get the gift of the Holy Ghost and
see the small, simple changes it makes that will eventually have a
huge outcome.
On Thursday we had a big “Missionary Training Conference.” Wow. We
found out that the Fort Meyers Zone, the entire bottom half of our
mission was taken out of our mission and added to the Fort Lauderdale
mission. I am so sad! I had some very close friends serving down
there! The Fort Lauderdale Mission doesnt have iPads so they got them
taken away and I’m sure that has been hard. I feel so spoiled, but I
don’t know how I would do missionary work without iPads! (We are
supposed to refer to them as areabooks now haha.)
We also have been reduced to one iPad/areabook per companionship, and
that hasnt been too fun. Still is better than no iPad though. We were
given a lot more rules, everything is getting a lot more strict, which
is hard, but good. Change is good.
After the conference I exchanged with sister Loveridge. I love her! We
hadn’t seen each other in a while, and exchanging with her reminded me
of the good times we had when we lived together in St. Pete πŸ™‚ On the
second day of our exchange, we fasted to set a baptismal date. The
Lord answered our prayer and we met a girl named Keisha on the street
and set a baptismal date with her. I felt propmted to ask her to get
baptized on Feb. 14th, and later we found out that that happened to be
a Saturday!
Gregor passed his baptismal interview and is set to be baptized next
Sunday!!!! He is seriously the highlight of my mission. We are having
dinner with him and his wife on Thursday, and Sister Kunz and I are
going to pray that her heart will be softened. Originally she was
going to be baptized about a year ago but decided not to because she
would get attatched to all the sister missionaries and then they would
get transferred, or go home, and apparently she couldnt take that.
Please pray for her! We want their family to be eternal πŸ™‚ Gregor is
wonderful. He took us to breakfast on Saturday morning and told us
that he had prayed to know that Thomas S. Monson is a prophet before
he had his interview that day, and the Lord answered him through a
talk we committed him to read by Deter F. Uchtdorf. We were so happy!
This is getting long, so I’ll end it….but I just wanted to bear my
testimony. For the past few years, I have picked a word to focus on
for that year. Last year’s was BECOME. I have truly strived to BECOME
who Christ needed me to be. This year I have chosen the word MIRACLES.
I am so incredibly blessed to watch miracles unfold in people’s lives.
I know that this is Christ’s church and can’t believe He would trust
little me to bring something this important to the lives of His
children. I have seen Josh, Eyana, Lukeesha, and now Gregor come unto
Christ and feel of His love. I have felt the companionship of Jesus
Christ beside me as I go forth. What a miracle πŸ™‚

Onward and Upward,
Sister Davis

Leave a Reply

