October 2015 Flu, baptism, mosquito bites!

Standard
Hello!

My poor sweet companion, Sister Reed got the flu this week and we were stuck inside for FOUR DAYS. FOUR DAYS I TELL YOU! I about died of boredom.
List of things I did while stuck inside this week:
#1) Deep cleaned the apartment.
#2) Wrote in all 6 of my journals.
#3) Almost finished the entire Book of Mormon, woohoo!
#4) Deep cleaned the apartment again.
#5) Role played with my LAMP. (That was my lowest point.)
#6) Smashbooked.
#7) Wrote a pocket talk about faith, so if anyone ever calls me to speak last minute I am prepared.
#8) Watched : The Restoration, the District, Finding Faith in Christ, The Testaments, and even Mr. Kruger’s Christmas. (another low point in my sanity.)
I am alive though, and Sister Reed is feeling much better. We are ready to hit the pavement this week! We have another baptism coming up not this weekend, but next, so we have a lot to do to prepare Rosa. She is awesome!
General conference was INCREDIBLE. All of my questions were answered, but it was so interesting…most of my ‘answers’ were things I needed to GO and DO to get my answer. I have a lot of action items. It is neat to see the Lord teaching me to receive personal revelation from Him myself, which is a priceless tool I can develop for the rest of my life. My favorite talks were the ones of women and motherhood by Elder Nelson and Holland, the Ponderize talk (I’m ponderizing Moroni 10:32) and the “What lack I yet?” talk. So good.
I can’t wait to get out and apply everything I learned. I love being a missionary!
Sister Davis
Hey!

I cannot believe all the miracles we are seeing! We are literally working our tails off! We almost taught 30 lessons again, we are trying so hard to hit 30! Maybe this week. I love Sister Reed, she is such a good missionary and we have so much fun working together πŸ™‚ Keep her in your prayers.
Rosa is set to be baptized this Saturday!!!! She and Ismael, her member boyfriend, are getting married as well! She is the most sweet, selfless person. She is a modern day Ruth in the bible. She left her family’s religious beliefs to join Ismael’s, and takes such good care of his family. I have never taught anyone so excited to be baptized. I will send you pictures!
So this week Sister Reed and I tracted into a woman named Marion. Marion let us pray with her and show her the because of him video. She said she didn’t feel edified at her church and would love to come to ours. We tried to set a return appointment, but she said her sister and her were in the process of moving and couldn’t meet for two weeks. We offered to help her move. With tears in her eyes she said: “Really?” We told her “Of course!” We came back again a few days later to teach Marion and her older sister, Liz. The most amazing thing though, was that just before we knocked on their door, they had watched the movie 17 miracles on Netflix and LOVED it. They couldn’t believe that right as it ended, we knocked on their door. We taught them the Restoration and they both cried and told us that this is what they are looking for. They are both set to be baptized on November 7th! On Tuesday night our ward is doing a service project and helping them move πŸ™‚
October 19, 2015
Hey there!

Rosa got baptized on Saturday!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! It was one of THEE most spiritual baptisms I have been to my entire mission. She is just so humble and willing. I love her.
Last night, Liz and Marion came to our Book of Mormon class, and we had a great turn out! There were a lot of people there and it was a very spiritual study. Sister Reed and I had everyone read Mosiah 27 and Act 22 and compare the conversion of Alma the Younger to Saul/Paul. We planned on teaching about conversion and repentance and change, but the class ended up being about angels and how God sends them round about us to bear us up. Liz and Marion were in tears by the end. After the study, one member invited them to FHE at her home, and another member offered to take the to the R.S. activity on Tuesday. The key to missionary work is friendship! They made so many new friends and it was great for both of them. They even started calling this their “home church.” They are getting baptized on November 7th. It can’t come soon enough!
Also, Liz has been teaching us how to cook! She taught us how to cook flank steak. (SO GOOD) and parmesan chicken, and homemade mashed potatoes, tomato onion salad. We went over twice during our dinner hour and ate with her and then taught her a lesson! Since we don’t do member dinners, it was cool to do it with an investigator and learn how to cook too!
We have 7 baptismal dates! They are each so different, but you can easily feel the Lord’s love for them. One day this week we were at the church with an awkward amount of time to fill, and I knelt down while Sister Reed was in the bathroom and asked God where to go. He told me to tract down Fort King Road. We met a man and his son (Leon Sr. and Leon Jr.) who want to be baptized and accepted a baptismal date of November 7th! They’re grandma died in May, and ever since they have been feeling like something is lacking in their life, but can’t place it. They said we were an answer to their prayers! Leon Sr. is a single father raising his 15 year old son. They are so humble and want to come closer to God. I am so happy πŸ™‚
I LOVE being a missionary! Sister Reed and I are working so hard and seeing so many miracles!
Sister Davis
October 26, 2015
Hello! Sister Reed and I are so happy πŸ™‚ We are having so much fun. Our area is just exploding. Liz and Marion came to church for their first time yesterday and were welcomed by the ward with open arms. It was so awesome. In the last hour of church, Liz leaned over to me and said “This is exactly where God wants me. No other church has fit like this one. I can’t wait to get baptized.” I just hugged her and smiled. I love her and Marion! Liz even called our Bishop and asked him if she could donate her extra items she has from moving to anyone in the ward in need. She is a saint.

We met an 11 year old girl, Tegan, while we were tracting in a trailer park. Tegan loved us and followed us for and hour and a half and went tracting with us! She introduced us to all of her neighbors and said things like “Oh nobody lives in that lot.” “They will throw shoes at you if you knock on their door.” and “That family loves God more than nuns do, we should pray with them.”
We gave her our number before we left and told her to call us if she ever needed anything. Surprisingly, she called us the next day and asked us to come over and teach her a lesson! We taught her the restoration, and she had a whole bunch of questions about the priesthood. When we asked her to pray about whether or not Joseph Smith had the priesthood and was a prophet she said yes and asked if we could pray right then. So we did. She prayed for her first time out loud and asked God if Joseph Smith was a prophet. She sat there for a minute, and then said: “I feel like your church has God’s permission. God made me feel happy about it all of a sudden.” We committed her to baptism on Nov. 14th. The next time we went over, we gave her a child’s Book of Mormon and she already is reading it and loves it. Her aunt was interested in what we were teaching and sat in on the lesson. Turns out her aunt, Tina has been looking for a church and wanted to take the lessons as well. We gave Tina a Book of Mormon and introduced it. Tina asked us why God had allowed her to go through so many hard things in her life. I felt the Spirit strongly impress me to hand her the Book of Mormon and open it. I bore witness that I knew God would answer her question and that He loved her. She opened to Alma 36:27 “And I have been supported under trials and troubles of every kind, yea, and in all manner of afflictions; yea, God has delivered me from prison, and from bonds, and from death; yea, and I do put my trust in Him, and He will still deliver me.” She just looked at us in astonishment as tears filled her eyes. She said she knew that was directly from heaven. She came to church yesterday and LOVED it. What a miracle.
Also, this entire week I have had a MOSQUITO BITE on the bottom of my FOOT!!!! It has been itching SO BAD! My goodness. I have no idea how I got it, and it is just so annoying. But, that’s not all. Here is my new list for you: “Places that I have mosquito bites on my body:”
#1) Under my left foot.
#2) On my left wrist.
#3) 2 on my elbow.
#4) On the knuckle of my big toe.
#5) On my thigh. I have NO IDEA how I got that on either.
Well, we are so excited for Halloween this week! We will tell you how it goes! Love you all!
Sister Davis
Leave a Reply

